Skip to content

Happy Birthday Daddy!

April 30, 2009
I know this is a little late, but wanted to put it out here anyways…

You were the first man in my life, the measure against which every boy was held.*found one*
You taught me about life and parenting through laughter and love.
I have grown and learned the most, not from your perfection, but your imperfections.
You showed me that embracing your faults as well as your strengths and using both is where true strength of character is found.
You held my hand and cheered me on, even when you knew I was making the wrong choices.
Thank you for never saying, “I told you so”
Thank you for simply picking me up and gently nudging me towards the realizations of what went wrong, and how to choose more wisely the next time.
Thank you for helping me to realize that life shouldn’t be taken too seriously, or you’ll never make it through in one piece.
You have helped me to see the importance of friendship, independence, laughter, love and knowledge.
You taught me to stand on my own two feet, but also to know that it is just as important to know how to ask for help and lean on others when it is necessary.
You were, and still are, the best father any little girl could ever wish for.
You taught me to embrace our difficulties, stand strong together and love with all that I am. I know to accept my imperfections and choose my battles. I know that keeping my own identity is important not only for the strength of my myself, but for my children too.
~~~~~
Thank you for all the gifts you’ve given me, the best of which is you.
Happy Birthday Daddy. I hope it’s a wonderful day.
I love you so much!!
Then, Now and Always,

Your Loving Daughter,

Grace

aka

Daddy’s Little Girl

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

