Skip to content

In Chaos There Is Comfort.

April 6, 2009

Last night I made sure I had everything laid out for my morning commute. The Jones boys’ backpacks covering the kitchen table and I have packed their YUMMY lunches. The sound of coffee brewing is my morning soundtrack. Everything goes according to my morning plan, until Mister Teagan slowly emerges from his “bedroom”, his bare feet padding softly on the hardwood floors and I am greeted with the sight of a heavy Pull Up that has undoubtedly leaked on to his white sheets. I curse under my breath, but see his face drop. He hugs me, his curly brown hair tousled, his eyes still sleepy. We both smell like pee now, but it’s OK.

This house is home. Lately I feel like it is a crazy chaotic mess, offset by small clusters I have organized in an attempt to regain control. Like a pair of old shoes, it is scuffed. I find myself continually frustrated as I once again step on a Littlest Pet Shop toy, and gather up stray shoes, cups, and make repeated pleas to the boys to pick up after themselves. But it is home.

Finally I am out the door with the gang and on the way to school, only a few minutes off schedule. Blake has worn his favorite striped hat with a blue polo shirt for the day with his favorite khakis and is clutching his Mater (CARS) lunchbox. After I drop him off at preschool with the rest of the boys and wave and yell out my familiar “I love you dudes! Have fun!” I head down the highway to make the 9-mile commute to work. Yes, today is one of those days I am working for the beloved step mother! Fun times! I scan through the local radio stations and decide to crank a Jimmy Buffett CD.

My life is an unpredictable series of comedies in error, of good intentions railroaded by potty incidents and fevers of unknown origin and fly by the seat of my pants parenting. I am slowly learning to embrace the chaos, though, because it means I have a house full of life, not to mention dirty laundry and dog hair.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

