Skip to content

How It All Started…good or bad!

November 12, 2008

Up until I peed on several very expensive sticks a little over 3 years ago, I had sworn off all prospects of having kids. It was a mix of thinking I would never be a good mother and the enjoyment I had in my own life-sans-kids.

Okay. And fear. Utter and total fear.

So, I guess it was good that my pregnancy came totally out of the blue. I left my job as a paralegal and became a stay-at-home-mother. Saying I was ill-prepared was an understatement. Granted the APPD (almost post pardum depression) and having two ex-stepkids at home – but I was decidedly NOT a baby person (at least that’s what I told myself) and I figured if I could just make it through to toddlerdom (my clinical area of expertise) maybe I’d have a shot at raising a reasonably stable child while keeping some semblance of my sanity. Coupled with being about 2000 miles from home (first for job then for marriage), I was way out of my element. No friends, no family, and no clue. Really. And a whole lot of self-imposed guilt – you know, that I was screwing him up by co-sleeping or crying it out or not bottle feeding or breastfeeding too long. Ack.

And so, for the last three years, I’ve been trying to keep my head above ground. Thanks to blogging I’ve connected with more like-minded moms than I thought ever existed. I’ve been writing at my personal weblog, Motherhood Uncensored, since November 2005 and I loved blogging so much that I started Cool Mom Picks, a hip, cheeky product and service review blog with my cool mom pal now business partner Liz. I’m also the co-founder of Parent Bloggers Network.

And in my free time, I’m obsessed with Sex and the City reruns and Flight of the Conchords.

And shoes. Lots of shoes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

